Accidental handball leading to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity will no longer be considered an offence. The IFAB have this afternoon issued a short statement:
“Accidental handball that leads to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity will no longer be considered an offence, the game’s law-making body the International Football Association Board has announced.
The controversial section of the handball law came into play during Thursday night’s Premier League game between Fulham and Tottenham when the Cottagers had a goal by Josh Maja ruled out when the ball cannoned into the hand of his team-mate Mario Lemina from a Davinson Sanchez clearance when he was a matter of yards away.
And now the IFAB has agreed on the change, which comes into effect from July 1. However, competitions have the flexibility to introduce changes prior to that date, IFAB said.”
Scott Parker on the rule change: “It’s disappointing to think that we’re at the back end of a competition, and we’re changing rules.”